Dutch holidays are regulated in collective agreements (CAO) and labour agreements so check your employer’s CAO or labour agreement to see what holidays are considered to be free days. If you work on a public holiday, you are (often) entitled to extra pay. Finally, as an employee, you are also entitled to holiday leave.

Types of Dutch holidays
Holidays in the Netherlands can be divided into three categories:

Dutch national holidays
There are two national holidays in the Netherlands: King’s Day (Koningsdag) and Liberation Day (Bevrijdingsdag).

Dutch public holidays
The commonly recognised public holidays in the Netherlands are the Dutch national holidays, New Year’s Day, and a few Christian holidays.

Other holidays in the Netherlands
Additionally, the Netherlands also has a number of holidays that are not legally recognised (e.g. Sinterklaas).

Dutch holidays 2019

  • New Year’s Day / Nieuwjaarsdag: January 1
  • Good Friday / Goede Vrijdag: April 19
  • Easter Sunday / Eerste Paasdag: April 21
  • Easter Monday / Tweede Paasdag: April 22
  • King's Day / Koningsdag: April 27
  • National Remembrance Day / Dodenherdenking: May 4 (not an official holiday)
  • Liberation Day / Bevrijdingsdag: May 5 (holiday every 5 years; next in 2020)
  • Ascension Day / Hemelvaartsdag: May 30
  • Whit (Pentecost) Sunday / Eerste Pinksterdag: June 9
  • Whit (Pentecost) Monday / Tweede Pinksterdag: June 10
  • Sinterklaas: December 5 (not an official holiday)
  • Christmas Day / Eerste Kerstdag: December 25
  • Boxing Day / Tweede Kerstdag: December 26
  • New Year's Eve / Oudejaarsavond: December 31 (not an official holiday)
— Learn more