NWO Institutes Organisation

The NWO Institutes Organisation (NWO-I), formerly the Foundation for Fundamental Research on Matter (FOM) – see for more information  - is fully named the Netherlands Foundation of Scientific Research Institutes.

NWO-I is an independent foundation, that belongs to the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO). The office of NWO-I is located on the Van Vollenhovenlaan in Utrecht.

The NWO Institutes Organisation supports the NWO Institutes. At this moment it concerns only the former FOM Institutes:

  • AMOLF Laboratorium voor moleculair en materiaalonderzoek
  • ARCNL Advanced Research Center for Nanolithography
  • DIFFER Dutch Institute for Fundamental Energy Research
  • Nikhef Institute for Subatomic Physics Nikhef

The other NWO Institutes are intended join the NWO Institutes Organisation as from 1 January 2018:

  • ASTRON Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy
  • CWI national research institute for mathematics and computer science
  • NIOZ Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research
  • NSCR The Netherlands Institute for the Study of Crime and Law Enforcement
  • SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research

200 workgroups are part of the NWO Institutes Organisation, where physics research takes place at Dutch universities and institutes (see below). This research will take place until the former FOM-projects have been seen to an end.

For further information, please visit the website

Social media
Follow us on TwitterFacebookYoutube and Linkedin

Add this FactCard to your website

Is the information on this FactCard relevant to your audience?

Feel free to share this FactCard on your website. This is very easy and will enhance the service level to your visitors.

Simply check the preview, copy the embed code, paste it in your website and you are done!

Preview and embed this FactCard











Related Decks